The Best SAT Prep Apps: An Honest Comparison, Starting With the Free Official Ones
Quick answer: The baseline every student should use first is free and official: College Board's Bluebook app, which delivers full-length digital practice tests in the real testing interface, and Official Digital SAT Prep on Khan Academy, built in partnership with College Board and free. Nothing on this page — including our own app — replaces those two, because only they reproduce the actual test experience and the official question style. Paid courses such as UWorld and Magoosh are worth their price when you need structured video teaching and a large explained question bank; lightweight free apps are worth installing when you need drilling in the gaps of your day.
The SAT prep market is loud, expensive, and full of claims nobody checks. This page does something narrower and more useful: it compares six real options on four things you can verify — platforms, how they charge, whether they work offline, and whether you need an account — and it starts with the free official tools, because failing to mention those would make any "best SAT prep app" list dishonest from the first line.
One of the six is our own app, and it is labelled as such. Everything else comes from College Board, Khan Academy, or the company's own pricing page, all linked at the end.
Why the free official tools come first
Digital SAT practice has an unusual property: the test is delivered in a specific app, and that app is free. Practising in the same interface, with the same tools, on the same adaptive module structure, is worth more than any third-party simulation — and it costs nothing. Everything else you buy is supplementary teaching and drilling on top of that foundation.
So the honest hierarchy is: take official full-length practice tests in Bluebook, review with the official Khan Academy course, and then decide whether you still have a gap worth paying to fill. Many students do — untaught content, weak fundamentals, no study discipline — and that is what the paid options address. Just do not buy them instead of the free official ones.
The comparison at a glance
| Tool | Platforms | Price model | Works offline | Account required |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bluebook (College Board, official) | Windows, Mac, iPad, school-managed Chromebook | Free | Tests run in the installed app; scores are delivered online afterwards | Yes — a College Board account |
| Official Digital SAT Prep on Khan Academy | Web | Free | No — web-based | Yes, to track progress and link practice-test results |
| UWorld College Prep (SAT) | Web, iOS, Android | $299 / 30 days, $349 / 90 days, $399 / 180 days, $449 / 360 days | Not stated; syncs across devices | Yes |
| Magoosh SAT | Web, iOS, Android | $129 for 12 months (or 4 × $32.25); $399 with live classes | Not stated on the plans page | Yes |
| Varsity Tutors SAT app | iOS, Android | Free | Not stated on the app page | Not stated on the app page |
| ScoreMint (ours) | Android (Google Play). No iOS version | Free to download, with an optional Pro upgrade | Yes — every question works offline | No |
1. Bluebook — the official testing app, and the real baseline
Bluebook is College Board's digital testing application, used for the actual SAT and PSAT. It runs on a Windows or Mac device, an iPad, or a school-managed Chromebook, and College Board describes the app as completely free both to download and to use. Full-length official practice tests for the SAT and PSAT are available inside it, and after you finish one you can view and download your scores in My Practice, review questions, analyse your performance, and get targeted practice through Khan Academy.
Standout feature: it is the test. Same interface, same tools, same adaptive two-module structure, same annotation and calculator features. No third-party product can offer that, and none of them pretend the practice tests inside Bluebook are anything but the gold standard.
When it is the better pick: for full-length timed practice, always — and it is free, so there is no trade-off to weigh. The gap it leaves is teaching: Bluebook scores you, it does not explain concepts or drill a weak topic twenty times.
2. Official Digital SAT Prep on Khan Academy — free, and built with College Board
Khan Academy's Digital SAT course is developed in partnership with College Board, and College Board's own description ends with the important part: "Best of all, it's free!" It includes practice-test breakdowns, levelled practice at three difficulty tiers (Foundations, Medium and Advanced), short video walkthroughs of example questions, and diagnostic tools including course challenges, skill quizzes and unit tests. Once you have taken a Bluebook practice test, your results feed into targeted practice recommendations.
When it is the better pick: for reviewing after a practice test, and for rebuilding fundamentals if you are scoring below your target. Honestly assessed, a disciplined student using Bluebook plus Khan Academy, consistently, for two months will out-score an undisciplined student with a $400 course. Where it stops: it is a web course. It assumes a laptop, a browser and a block of time, which is a poor fit for the ten minutes you have on a bus.
3. UWorld College Prep — the explanation-heavy paid option
UWorld's SAT course sells access in four terms: $299 for 30 days, $349 for 90 days, $399 for 180 days with one reset, and $449 for 360 days with one reset. It includes 1,700+ practice questions with visual, step-by-step explanations, video lessons across all SAT topics, print and digital study guides with 400+ knowledge checks and 300+ additional practice questions, a score-predicting full-length mock test, a customisable quiz generator and a study planner. It is available on the web and through iOS and Android apps with sync between them, an account is required, and there is a 7-day free trial that does not ask for a credit card.
Standout feature: the explanations. UWorld built its reputation on explaining every answer choice with diagrams rather than a one-line justification, and for students who keep making the same conceptual error, that is genuinely worth money. When it is the better pick: when you have taken official practice tests, identified specific weaknesses, and want a large explained bank to attack them — with a real deadline that fits inside one of those access windows.
4. Magoosh SAT — the cheaper structured course
Magoosh takes a different pricing approach: $129 for 12 months of self-paced Premium access (or four payments of $32.25), with a $399 tier that adds 16 hours of live instruction led by a 99th-percentile instructor, meeting twice weekly. Premium includes over 1,750 practice questions with video and/or text explanations for every question, over 200 video lessons, and up to three practice tests. There is a free trial, a 7-day money-back guarantee, and a +100 point score-improvement guarantee, and Magoosh offers Android and iOS apps alongside the web course.
When it is the better pick: if you want a full year of structured video teaching for roughly the price of a month of some competitors. For a sophomore or early junior planning a long run-up, the 12-month window is the right shape, and the price makes it the most accessible paid course here.
5. Varsity Tutors SAT app — free drilling on a phone
Varsity Tutors publishes a free SAT app for iOS and Android built on its Learning Tools platform. It offers full-length timed practice assessments with a report covering scoring information and solving times, a Learn by Concept resource for studying a section broadly or drilling into a specific topic, flashcards across topic ranges plus a Flashcard Maker for your own cards, a Test Tracker for recording scores over time, and detailed explanations with each question. All of it is free.
When it is the better pick: when you want zero-cost drilling on a phone and you already have Bluebook and Khan Academy covering the official side. It is a broad platform covering 40+ subjects rather than a specialist SAT product, which is both its strength and its limitation.
6. ScoreMint — full disclosure: we make this one
ScoreMint is our own app, so treat this as the developer describing his own product. It is available on Google Play for Android phones and tablets; there is no iPhone or iPad version, so if you use iOS this app is simply not an option for you. It is free to download, with a free practice tier and an optional Pro upgrade that unlocks unlimited practice, all subjects, timed mode, FRQ mode and full analytics; current pricing is always shown on the Google Play listing.
It covers four subjects — Digital SAT Math, ACT Science, AP Chemistry and AP Physics 1 — with the SAT Math content doubling as PSAT practice. Questions are original, written to be exam-faithful in style and difficulty, and cross-verified; ScoreMint never reproduces questions from official College Board or ACT materials. Practice modes include Quick 5, timed sessions, topic drills, a mistakes-only queue and bookmarks, with per-choice explanations that say why each wrong answer is wrong. Progress tracking covers a score estimate per subject, topic accuracy, a streak calendar and an exam countdown. Everything is bundled in the app, so it works fully offline, with no account, no sign-up, no ads and no third-party analytics.
Where it fits: the ten-minute gaps — a bus, a queue, a study hall with no Wi-Fi — and the specific case of a student preparing SAT Math alongside an AP science. Where it does not: we do not offer Reading and Writing, so ScoreMint alone cannot prepare you for the whole SAT. We are not a course, so if you need to be taught a topic from scratch, Khan Academy (free) or Magoosh (paid) will serve you better. And we cannot give you an official full-length adaptive practice test — only Bluebook can, and you should take those regardless of what else you use.
How we picked, and what we refuse to publish
Every fact in the table comes from College Board, Khan Academy, or the company's own pricing page, checked in August 2026 and linked below. There are no star ratings, no download counts, and no "best overall" award on this page. Course prices and included features change regularly — confirm current pricing before you buy — and no app, ours included, can promise a score. Nothing here is a guarantee of score improvement.
A sequence that works for most students
- Take an official full-length practice test in Bluebook. Free, and it gives you a real baseline instead of a guess.
- Review it on Khan Academy. Free, official, and targeted at the questions you actually missed.
- Drill the two or three weakest topics daily — on whatever app fits your commute. Ten questions a day beats a three-hour weekend session, because retention comes from spacing.
- Buy a course only if steps 2 and 3 keep stalling. What you are purchasing is teaching and structure, not access to secret questions.
- Repeat the full-length test every few weeks to check that the drilling is moving the number.
Our Digital SAT Math study guide covers what to drill and in what order once you know your weak domains.
Sources
- College Board — Download Bluebook and Bluebook Digital Testing (supported devices; free download and use)
- College Board — Full-length digital practice tests on Bluebook (scored tests; scores and review in My Practice; targeted practice through Khan Academy)
- College Board — How to use Khan Academy (free; developed in partnership with College Board; levelled practice, video walkthroughs, course challenges, quizzes and unit tests)
- UWorld SAT online prep course (30/90/180/360-day plans at $299/$349/$399/$449; 1,700+ questions; video lessons; mock test; web and mobile apps; account required; 7-day free trial)
- Magoosh SAT plans and pricing ($129 for 12 months or 4 × $32.25; $399 with live classes; 1,750+ questions; 200+ video lessons; up to 3 practice tests; +100 point guarantee; 7-day money-back; Android and iOS apps)
- Varsity Tutors SAT mobile app (free; iOS and Android; timed full-length assessments with performance reports, Learn by Concept, flashcards and Flashcard Maker, Test Tracker)
- ScoreMint facts: our own Google Play listing and app documentation.
SAT® and PSAT® are trademarks registered by College Board, which is not affiliated with, and does not endorse, this site or the ScoreMint app. Bluebook is College Board's own testing application; Khan Academy, UWorld, Magoosh and Varsity Tutors are independent companies with no affiliation to ScoreMint. Prices and plan contents were checked in August 2026 and can change; always confirm current details on the official College Board website and on each company's own site. Nothing on this page is a guarantee of score improvement.